Academic Senate

The Academic Senate is the faculty source for college, district, and shared governance information.

The Academic Senate meets at noon on the first and third Tuesday of each month in Rodda North 258.

The faculty is organized through the Academic Senate. Senators are elected by each division on campus to serve a term of two years. The officers are elected campus-wide for a term of two years. The responsibility of the senators is to be an information conduit between their divisions and the Senate and to act on behalf of the division faculty they represent.

In addition, AB1725 charges the Academic Senate with the responsibility for policy development and administrative affairs that pertain to academic and professional matters. The president of the Senate represents the views of faculty on the College Executive Council.

Academic Senate Location

    • Rodda Hall North, RHN 258

Academic Senate Hours

Meets 12-1pm the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month

Academic Senate Officers

Academic Senate Members

Norma Olivarez   (Advanced Technology)

Chris Seddon   (Advanced Technology)

Peter Wong  (Advanced Technology)

Dominic Cerri   (Behavioral & Social Sciences)

Barry Kalar   (Behavioral & Social Sciences)

Nadine Kirkpatrick    (Behavioral & Social Sciences)

Nicholas Miller   (Behavioral & Social Sciences)

Shane Logan   (Behavioral & Social Sciences)

Maria Regalado   (Behavioral & Social Sciences)

Dan McCarty  (Business & CIS)

Brian Mom  (Business &CIS)

Tim Taylor (Business & CIS)

Kris Janssen   (Counseling & Student Success)

Irma Rodriguez  (Counseling & Student Success)

Kim Church   (Humanities & Fine Arts)

Gioia Fonda   (Humanities & Fine Arts)

Debbie Blair   (Kinesiology/Health/Athletics)

Deskaheh Bomberry  (Kinesiology/Health/Athletics)


Michelle Beuttel   (Language & Literature)

Laura Leek   (Language & Literature)

Duane Leonard   (Language & Literature)

Casey Miller (Language & Literature)

Makeba Rangel   (Language & Literature)

Josh Roberts   (Language & Literature)

Barbara Toupadakis  (Language & Literature)

Daniel Gilbert-Valencia   (Learning Resources)

Judy Howe   (Learning Resources)

Tara DuVernay   (Math/Statistics/Engineering)

Joseph Phillips   (Math/Statistics/Engineering)

Jonathan Segal    (Math/Statistics/Engineering)

Joseph Steever  (Math/Statistics/Engineering)

Bonnie Clark   (Science & Allied Health)

Ken Naganuma   (Science & Allied Health)

Michael Richardson   (Science & Allied Health)

Jaime Sarte   (Science & Allied Health)

Academic Senate Led Committees