Writing Center Workshops

We hold workshops that focus on brainstorming, planning, drafting, and revising essays.

We also offer grammar, punctuation, editing, and timed writing workshops.

These workshops are designed to enhance students’ academic skills and confidence.

Each workshop lasts approximately one hour.

Online Workshops

Writing Center Workshop: Getting Started on a Writing Assignment

Writing Center Workshop: Thesis Statements

Writing Center Workshop: Essay Structure

Writing Center Workshop: Timed Writing

Writing Center Workshop: Writing a Research Paper

Writing Center Workshop: Subject-Verb Agreement

Writing Center Workshop: Comma Rules

Writing Center Workshop: Run-ons, Fragments, and Comma Splices

Writing Center Workshop: Reading for College

American Psychological Association Tutorial: The Basics of APA Style

 

 

Current Workshops

March 2015

Introductions and Conclusions

Monday, March 2, 4pm, LR 318

Structure of an Essay (*ENGWR 51)

Wednesday, March 4, 4pm, LR 141

 APA Citation

Monday, March 9, 10am, LR 141

Thesis Statements

Wednesday, March 11, 2pm, LR 141

Writing a Research Paper

Monday, March 16, 11am, LR 141

Timed Writing 

Wednesday, March 18, 4pm, LR 141

Subject-Verb Agreement

Monday, March 23, 11am, LR 141

Chicago Citation

Wednesday, March 25, 4pm, LR 141

Integrating Sources

Tuesday, March 3, 4pm, LR 141

Reading for College (*ENGWR 51)

Thursday, March 5, 4pm, LR 141

MLA Citation

Tuesday, March 10, 12pm, LR 318

Comma Rules

Thursday, March 12, 4pm, LR 141

Timed Writing (*ENGWR 51)

Tuesday, March 17, 4pm, LR 141

Run-Ons, Fragments, and Comma Splices

Thursday, March 19, 12pm, LR 318

Structure of an Essay (*ENGWR 51)

Tuesday, March 24, 4pm, LR 141

Revising the Content of a Rough Draft

Thursday, March 26, 4pm, LR 141

Visit the Writing Center in LR 144 or call (916) 558-2126 for more information.

* These workshops are designed to support students taking English Writing (ENGWR) 51.

To download a PDF version of our workshop flyer, please click here:  Workshop Flyer March 2015