Writing Center Workshops

We hold workshops that focus on brainstorming, planning, drafting, and revising essays.

We also offer grammar, punctuation, editing, and timed writing workshops.

These workshops are designed to enhance students’ academic skills and confidence.

Each workshop lasts approximately one hour.

Online Workshops

Writing Center Workshop: Getting Started on a Writing Assignment

Writing Center Workshop: Thesis Statements

Writing Center Workshop: Essay Structure

Writing Center Workshop: Timed Writing

Writing Center Workshop: Writing a Research Paper

Writing Center Workshop: Subject-Verb Agreement

Writing Center Workshop: Comma Rules

Writing Center Workshop: Run-ons, Fragments, and Comma Splices

Writing Center Workshop: Reading for College

American Psychological Association Tutorial: The Basics of APA Style

Current Workshops

October 2014

Print a PDF copy of our October workshop flyer: Workshop Flyer October 2014

Print a copy of our upcoming November workshop flyer: Workshop Flyer November 2014

 

Writing a Paragraph

Wednesday, October 1, 3pm, LR 318

Structure of an Essay (ENGWR51)

Monday, October 6, 2pm, LR 318

Integrating Sources

Wednesday, October 8, 3pm, LR 318

Timed Writing

Monday, October 13, 2pm, LR 318

Introductions and Conclusions

Wednesday, October 15, 11am, LR 141

Thesis Statements

Tuesday, October 21, 11am, LR 318

MLA Citation

Monday, October 27, 4pm, LR 318

Revising the Content of a Draft

Wednesday, October 29, 3pm, LR 318

Thesis Statements

Thursday, October 2, 4pm, LR 141

Run-Ons, Fragments, and Comma Splices

Tuesday, October 7, 11am, LR 318

Getting Started

Thursday, October 9, 4pm, LR 141

Organizing Your Paper

Tuesday, October 14, 2pm, LR 318

Comma Rules

Monday, October 20, 11am, LR 141

Writing a Research Paper

Wednesday, October 22, 11am, LR 141

Grammar Practice (ENGWR51)

Tuesday, October 28, 4pm, LR 141

APA Citation

Thursday, October 30, 4pm, LR 141

Visit the Writing Center in LR 144 or call (916) 558-2126 for more information.