University of California Introduces New Transfer Pathway

Sac City’s Davis Center served as host to a news conference and kick off event highlighting a new, streamlined transfer pathways project between the University of California and the statewide Community College system.

UC President Janet Napolitano and California Community College Chancellor Brice Harris made the joint announcement at the Davis Center – the only community college center located on a UC campus – that a new roadmap for community college students now exists at all nine (9) of the UC campuses throughout the state.

The 10 most popular majors throughout the UC system will begin the program. Students can now take a single set of courses that will be recognized at each of the universities. Those majors include anthropology, biochemistry, biology, cell biology, chemistry, economics, mathematics, molecular biology, physics, and sociology. Napolitano said an additional 11 majors will be added to the list in 2016. At that point, 2/3 of all UC enrollees will fall under the new guidelines.

The idea is to take the guesswork out for students who wish to attend any of the UC campuses.

This new pathway will provide students a “transparent roadmap for transfer to UC, as well as for timely completion of their bachelor’s degree in their major of choice,” Harris said.

Fore more information, visit