NISOD Awards

Since its beginning in 1978, the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) has sought to serve, engage and inspire higher education faculty and staff.

In 1989, in connection with a University of Texas national study of teaching excellence, NISOD hosted its first ceremony in conjunction with the  International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence, honoring and naming individuals featured in the study of recipients of the NISOD Excellence Award. College presidents who are members of NISOD submit names of individuals they feel should be recognized for “Excellence in Education.” The Excellence Awards tradition gives NISOD the distinct privilege of honoring Sacramento City College’s  (SCC) best.

SCC's "NISOD Excellence Award" Recipients


Diane BelairStudent Services Counselor
Andy DivanyanInformation Technology Assistant
 Sarah EyansonAdministrative Assistant- Business Division
 Dianne Heimer Journalism Professor
 Jan Lee Reading Professor
 Connie Zuercher Kinesiology, Health and Athletics Professor



 Shannon Culmo Student Services Counselor
 Virginia Gessford Tutoring Center Coordinator
 Dr. Thomas Greene Associate Vice President of Student Services
 Jeannette Solorio Financial Aid Officer
 Glennda Wagner Nursing Professor
 Derrick Wydick Workability Coordinator



 Alexander Adan Media Resources Supervisor
 Maristella Bacod Student Services Counselor
 Fred Dalkey Art Professor
 Parrish GearyStudent Personnel Assistant- Information/Orientation
 Lisa GundersonPsychology Professor
 Janice Hans Administrative Assistant- Language & Literature
Marcia JamesAdministrative Assistant-College Community Relations
 Mai-Gemu Johnson MESA Coordinator/Professor
 Marie Larson ESL Professor
 Ann Lewis English Professor
 Michael Poindexter Vice President Student Services
 Mary Ann Robinson Librarian Professor
 Linda Stroh Economics Professor
 Jerry Sullivan Physical Education Professor
 Jane Woo Articulation Officer



 Cathy Chenu-Campbell Librarian Professor



 Wayne Anderson Physics Professor
 Julia Jolly ESL Professor
 Margo Keating Cosmetology Professor
 Marie Maschemeyer Family & Consumer Services Professor
Maxine PhillipsStudent Services Counselor
 Donna Sparks Theatre Arts Professor
 Naola Van Orden Chemistry Professor
 Connie Zuercher Women’s Basketball Coach



 Tonya Hilligoss Professor
 Celina Ing CIS Professor
 Linda Klein Professor
 Juan LaChica Student Services Counselor
 Nancy McGrath English Professor
 Sue Payne Counselor
 Joyce Schaeuble Psychology Professor
 William Smith  Student Development Professor



 Shirley Brown Professor
 Mel Duvall Professor
 Paula Galvez-Fox Nursing Professor
 Al Kwolek Geography Professor
 Ginny McReynolds Journalism Professor
 Dick Shimasaki Psychology Professor
 Junia Wager Nutrition Professor


 Tom Bruce Psychology Professor
 Barbara Davis-Lyman Director
 Sharon Dutra Professor
 Gene Sellers Math Professor
 Ruth Sime Chemistry Professor