Administrative Structure & Processes

Participatory Decision-Making

The president, as the chief executive officer, coordinates the planning and operations of the college. The president and the three vice-presidents of SCC’s College Service Areas (Instructional Services, Student Services, & Administrative Services) meet as the President’s Executive Staff.

The president, the three vice-presidents, the dean of Planning, Research & Institutional Effectiveness (PRIE), the dean of Information Technology (IT), the Public Information Officer (PIO), and the director of college Advancement meet as the President’s Cabinet.

Members of Executive Council include the president, executive staff, dean of PRIE, the PIO, and one representative from each of the constituent groups. The Executive Council acts as a clearinghouse that oversees the participatory decision-making process. All recommendations from standing committees, constituent groups, or Campus Issues forms are submitted to Executive Council.

Each of the three College Service Areas has an administrative group, as follows:

  • Instructional Services – Instructional Deans Council
  • Student Services – Student Services Deans & Supervisors
  • Administrative Services – Administrative Services Staff

Vice-presidents work with other administrators, faculty, and classified personnel to carry-out their respective functions.

Deans from across the College also meet in the Joint Deans Council, and all managers meet as a constituency group called the Senior Leadership Team (SLT).

Issues affecting the entire college community should go up the organizational ladder for further discussion and approval. Units have the responsibility to work across the administrative structure with other units to clarify and make decisions regarding issues of mutual concern. All parties must keep appropriate staff informed of discussions and actions and involve them in the decision-making process.