Campus Safety Committee

Standing Committee

Campus Safety Committee Charge

The Campus Safety Committee promotes campus safety, security, and emergency preparedness to endeavor to create a safe and secure learning and working environment for the campus community. The Committee reviews and makes recommendations on campus safety and security issues brought forth by staff, faculty, and students; provides guidance, support, and recommendations regarding safety policies and programs; and assists with emergency procedures planning and programming. The Committee periodically reviews reports of accidents, incidents, and injuries that occur on campus, recommends appropriate action to mitigate adverse trends, and provides oversight of the Environmental, Safety, and Security Program Plan.

Campus Safety Committee Alignment with Accreditation Standards


Campus Safety Committee Meeting Schedule
2nd Friday of each month from 11 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Meeting Location: City Cafe #2

(Exceptions: November meeting will be held on 11-17-2017 at 10 a.m.; December and January meeting will not be held.)

Other Committee Items:


2017-18 Campus Safety Committee Membership

Committee Chairs:
Manager: Carel Mountain, Science & Allied Health
Classified: Karen Chewning, Operations
Faculty: Wendy Gomez, Counseling and Student Success

Administrative Members:
Carrie Bray, Administrative Services
Chris Iwata, Humanities & Fine Arts
Margaret Lednicky, Operations
John McPeek, Campus Police

Classified Members:
Michael Benjamin, Admissions & Records
Maggie Carmona, Information Technology
Carmen Hirkala, Science & Allied Health
Kaitlyn MacGregor, Public Information Office
John McPeek, Campus Police
Evelyn Retter, Counseling and Student Success
Velisa Robertson, CalWorks
Marina Zanardelli, Disabled Student Programs and Services

Faculty Members:
Palwasha Arya, Science & Allied Health
John C. Buonauro, Advanced Technology
Karen Burrell, Language and Literature
Michael Grofe, Behavioral & Social Sciences
Julie Hawthorne, Language and Literature
Jesus Martinez, Mathematics, Statistics & Engineering
Kathleen Poe, Humanities and Fine Arts
Truman Rishard, Business & CIS
Jacinth Thomas-Val, Language and Literature
Barbara Toupadakis, Language and Literature

Student Members:
Keanna LaForga