SLO Assessment Committee (SLOAC)

The Student Learning Outcomes Assessment Committee (SLOAC) of the SCC Academic Senate is actively engaged in supporting SLO assessment efforts across all areas of the college.

SLOAC Committee Members

Faculty Chair – SLO Coordinator (or designee by Academic Senate)

  • Gayle Pitman


  • Diane Belair (CSS)
  • Kim Beyrer (CSS)
  • Karen Parks (BCIS)
  • Pamela Posz (LR)
  • Rick Woodmansee (MSE)

Staff Development Coordinator

  • Norman Lorenz

Distance Ed Coordinator

  • Kandace Knudson


  • Linda Delgadillo (Equity and Student Success)


  • Marybeth Buechner
  • Robin Ikegami
  • Carl Sjovold
  • Molly Springer


  • not filled


  • not filled

Student Services

  • not filled


  • Marybeth Buechner

Committee Charge and Composition

The Student Learning Outcomes Assessment Committee (formerly known as the SLO Learning Outcomes Subcommittee) of the SCC Academic Senate is actively engaged in supporting SLO assessment efforts across all areas of the college.  The committee is open to any college faculty or staff interested in SLO assessment and is currently composed of instructional and student service faculty, staff members, and managers representing most of the academic divisions.

The aim of the group is to provide support for SLO assessment efforts, questions, and concerns of faculty and staff across the college community. Important roles for this group include facilitating communication on SLOs at all levels and helping to integrate SLO efforts across divisions.

In its first year, the group produced SCC’s SLO Philosophy Statement which was adopted by the Academic Senate in May, 2005.  This statement was the product of an inclusive dialogue that engaged the college community and has as its aims ” to provide a foundation of shared values of SLO assessment, clarify the intention of SLO assessment, and facilitate an ongoing dialogue…in a way that best serves our students.”

Throughout the 2007-08 academic year, the SLO advisory group played a major role in the development of the SLO Assessment Strategy and associated SLO planning tools. These were first adapted by the Academic Senate in 2008 and updated in spring, 2010 to include the SLO Departmental SLO Assessment Multi-year Plan and the SLO Annual Course Assessment Report.

The Current SLO Assessment Committee (SLOAC)

In fall, 2013, the Academic Senate formed a subcommittee to draft the charge and composition of the new SLO assessment committee. The charge and composition of the current SLO Assessment Committee (SLOAC) was approved by the Academic Senate on November, 5th, 2013. The committee is continuing to grow as new members are being added.

Charge and Composition

(Approved by the Academic Senate 11/5/2013)


While maintaining the values of shared governance and academic freedom, the Student Learning Outcomes Assessment Committee (SLOAC) exists to facilitate discipline, division, and college-wide discussions on the development and implementation of Student Learning Outcomes Assessment. The SLOAC will recognize and support development of student learning assessment materials and reports that directly assess course, program, service, and institutional student learning outcomes to provide high quality education for our students and ensure compliance with education policy and accreditation standards.


The Academic Senate President will appoint members to the SLOAC as follows:

  • Faculty Chair – SLO Coordinator (or designee by Academic Senate)
  • Faculty (20) – two from each division
  • Staff Development Coordinator (1)*
  • Distance Ed Coordinator (1)*
  • Classified (5) – based on recommendation of Classified Senate President
  • Administration (3) – based on recommendation of Senior Leadership Team Chair/President
  • Student (2) – based on recommendation of Student Senate President

In addition, there may be an additional 3 to 5 faculty, with at most one additional administrator and at most one additional classified staff representing the following areas:

  • Curriculum (1)**
  • Student Services (3)**
  • PRIE (1)**

*May simultaneously fulfill faculty representation

**May simultaneously fulfill faculty, classified, or administrative representation

Please contact Gayle Pittman,, 916-558-2154, if you are interested in finding out more about the committee or are interested in joining the committee.

Committee Minutes