Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum (IGETC)

Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum (IGETC) is a series of courses that prospective transfer students attending California Community Colleges (CCC) may complete to satisfy the lower-division breadth/general education requirements at both the University of California (UC) and the California State University (CSU).

Students may be IGETC certified if they complete coursework at one or more California Community College without regard to current enrollment status or the number of units accrued at a California community college.

IGETC includes 11 courses (34 semester units) in the following subjects:

  • English communication
  • Mathematical concepts and quantitative reasoning
  • Arts and humanities
  • Social and behavioral sciences
  • Physical and biological sciences
  • Language other than English

Who accepts the IGETC?

Here’s a list that continues to grow: